NRL Tips – The importance of a quality Playmaker


The importance of a quality Playmaker

Looking for the NRL premiership Winner? Start by looking at the individual playmakers.

The importance of a quality Playmaker – #7 or #6 calling the shorts and directing play toward winning the premiership title has stood the test of time. So much so that 35 of the last 37 premiership titles have been won by sides who have had a Origin or International representative playmaker in their halves combinations, even across the last 10 or so years with many coaches favouring an even more highly structured approach with left and right playmakers. peter sterling nrl

The only two sides to win the comp without a Rep #7 or #6 were the 2014 Rabbitohs and 1980 Canterbury teams, but in both instances they were to win with key playmakers who were to then go on to rep honours. The 2014 Rabbitohs side had Adam Reynolds calling the shots at #7 who has since gone on to be a NSW Origin rep, while the 1980 Canterbury title winners did so with that year with Gary Hughes at #6 and Steve Mortimer at #7. Mortimer went on to an illustrious rep career but his first rep honours were not until the following season, 1981.

Over the course of history the list of NRL title winners has been dominated by some of the greats playing their role at #7 or #6 – Mortimer; Sterling (and Kenny); Hasler; Stuart (and Daley); Langer (and Walters); Johns; Fittler and Lockyer to mention the obvious, each leading their respective teams to premiership glory. Through recent years we have then seen the likes of Cronk (Storm) and now Thurston (Cowboys) join this illustrious list. 

There have also been a number of the lower profile (at the time) premiership winners also led by their rep playmaker, which include –

Penrith 1991 – Greg Alexander – Halfbackgreg alexander

Storm 1999 – Brett Kimmorley – Halfback

Penrith 2003 – Craig Gower – Halfback

Bulldogs 2004 – Braith Anasta – Five-Eight

West Tigers 2005 – Scott Prince – Halfback

Dragons 2010 – Jamie Soward – Halfback

A full list of Premiership winners can be viewed here

And what of the likely contenders for 2016?

Yes – Cowboys – Thurstonthurston premiership

Yes – Storm – Cronk

Yes – Sharks – Maloney

Yes – Bulldogs – J Reynolds

Yes – Broncos – B Hunt (Australia rep 2014)

No – Raiders

No – Titans

Yes – Warriors – Johnson

No – Panthers

MrG can be heard at 5.15pm each Monday and Friday talking all things NRL with Graeme Hughes and the boys on Talkin Sport across the 2sm super network

Mr G provides our NRL Sports Previews and Betting Tips


As at Round 20

50 winners / 83 bets

Strike Rate 60.2%

Profit +31.79 units

Best Bets 71.4%

NRL 2016 Current Results File > Rd20_RTP_NRL_Results_POT_2016

Short term subscriptions are available for the remainder of this season, right through to Grand Final – drop us an email to

Having coached at a senior level for 16 years including 3 years on the coaching staff of an NRL club Mr G is an avid student of the game. He’s coached sides to win titles at a senior level, run the football arm of a successful district club, managed professional players and worked in various development roles, so it’s fair to say the game of Rugby League is certainly in his blood and supports an experienced and unique offering.

Mr G’s NRL previews and betting tips combine this knowledge and ‘read’ of the current weekly form with a statistical and betting analysis to provide his followers with a unique and successful approach. He spends hours each week watching and reviewing each and every game assessing the strengths and weakness of the form to then weigh against that of the betting markets. His previews and betting tips have been published on the internet via two sports forums for 7 years prior to his public offering through Reading The Play.


Follow us on Twitter at


©Copyright Reading The Play

All care taken. No responsibility accepted. Please check all information at your own discretion. Any prices quoted for suggested bets are accurate at the time of writing. For personal use ONLY. This information may not be reproduced in any way whatsoever or re-used for any purpose whatsoever without the prior written permission of Reading The Play.

Published on in NRL.